The major elements of the shrine, lecture hall, dormitories, and pavilion

Seowon were established from the mid-16th to mid-17th century through the backing of local literati. The nine representative seowon are Sosu-seowon, Namgye-seowon, Oksan-seowon, Dosan-seowon, Piram-seowon, Dodong-seowon, Byeongsan-seowon, Museong-seowon and Donam-seowon, all of which are located across the nation. The nominated property is an outstanding testimony to the prevalence of Neo-Confucianism in educational and social practices in the Joseon Dynasty. Established from the mid-16th to mid17th century, the property exhibits a unique tradition of history and intangible values of Neo-Confucianism serving as an underlying base of education. The local literati at the property created an educational system and architectures conducive to fully commit to Neo-Confucian learning. Furthermore, the property offered a venue for various social and political activities, which contributed to disseminating the principles of Neo-Confucianism throughout the nation. The nominated property bears exceptional examples of architectural prototypes of Korean Neo-Confucian academies. The efforts at typifying architectural layout had rapidly progressed during the early stage of seowon establishment movement and became reference to subsequent academies. The property is conducive to the practices of learning, veneration and interaction with buildings of lecture halls, shrines and pavilions, respectively. Architectural hierarchy is displayed by the use of natural topography and landscape, stylobates, wall fences and gates.


Events of 9 Seowon

Plan your visit

Request the information!